Skip to content
Suki logo

API directory · Partner ambient documentation API

Suki API

The most completely documented developer portal among the clinician-facing scribe vendors: public REST session API, WebSocket audio streaming, webhooks and a staging quickstart.

Written by Compare Healthcare API Editorial DeskReviewed by Technical ReviewLast reviewed Rubric v1.0
Verified 2026-09-04Access via sales6 documented endpointsOfficial documentation ↗

Short answer

What does the Suki API give a developer?

The most completely documented developer portal among the clinician-facing scribe vendors: public REST session API, WebSocket audio streaming, webhooks and a staging quickstart.

Base URL: Environment-specific (staging documented in the quickstart); production base URL issued to partners

Auth: Login endpoint returns a JWT (suki_token) used as the bearer credential on subsequent calls

Cite as: Suki API listing, Compare Healthcare API, last reviewed 2026-09-01.

Endpoints

Copied from the vendor's own reference. Where a path is described rather than published, the description is what the vendor states.

MethodEndpointModePurpose
POST/loginAuthAuthenticate a provider and obtain an access token.
POSTCreate ambient sessionSessionOpen an encounter session; accepts emr_encounter_id and returns a composition_id used as the note id.
WSAudio streaming socketStreamingStream raw PCM audio for the open session.
POSTEnd sessionSessionClose the session and trigger note generation.
GETNote / compositionSessionPoll for the generated structured clinical note.
POSTWebhooks (HMAC-signed)WebhookReceive note-ready and status events instead of polling.
Suki documented endpoints, verified 2026-09-04

Published rate limits

Numbers the vendor states publicly. Anything unpublished should be made contractual before you plan capacity.

Concurrency / sessions per minuteNot publicly documented
Suki published limits

Published pricing

List prices as published on the vendor's own pricing page at the verification date. Follow the source link before you quote these to anyone.

Published priceNot publicly disclosed by the vendor
Third-party estimate~$250 per user per month (ITQlick estimate — not vendor-confirmed, do not plan against it)
Suki published pricing

Data handling and compliance

The three answers a health-system security review will ask you for, as published.

BAAHIPAA-aware handling documented for developers; BAA via the commercial agreement
RetentionPer-session audio and data retention schedule published in the developer security FAQ
Training on PHINot publicly documented
Suki data handling

How to integrate the Suki API

An ordered path based on the public documentation, written for an engineering team scoping the work.

  1. 01

    Read the quickstart

    Walk the staging quickstart end to end on paper first: authenticate, create session, stream audio, end session, retrieve note.

  2. 02

    Request partner credentials

    Open the partnership conversation in parallel with your spike — the gate here is commercial, not technical.

  3. 03

    Implement the token flow

    Call the login endpoint, store the JWT server-side, and never ship it to a browser client.

  4. 04

    Stream raw PCM

    Match the documented wire format and message order exactly; audio format mismatches are the most common first failure.

  5. 05

    Switch polling to webhooks

    Verify the HMAC signature on every webhook before trusting a note-ready event.

  6. 06

    Bind sessions to encounters

    Pass emr_encounter_id at session creation so notes reconcile to the chart without a fuzzy match later.

What the documentation does not warn you about

The judgement an endpoint list cannot give you.

Suki documents the platform properly but does not publish rate limits or prices, so you can design the integration precisely and still cannot model its unit economics until you are in a commercial conversation.

Primary sources for this listing

Every fact above traces to one of these pages. If one has changed, tell us and the listing is re-verified.

Evidence & sources

Standards the integration steps above assume. Vendor-specific evidence is the primary source list on this page.

  1. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services · Regulation · Tier A — primary documentation

    Supports: The contractual clauses a documentation vendor's BAA must contain.

  2. U.S. Department of Health & Human Services · Regulation · Tier A — primary documentation

    Supports: Administrative, physical and technical safeguards a vendor handling recorded encounter audio must implement.

  3. HL7 International · Standard · Tier A — primary documentation

    Supports: Resource definitions (DocumentReference, Composition, Encounter, Condition, MedicationRequest) that clinical documentation output must map onto.

Source tiers are defined on the methodology page. Outbound links are unaffiliated and carry no commercial relationship.

Frequently asked questions

Does Suki have a public API?
The most completely documented developer portal among the clinician-facing scribe vendors: public REST session API, WebSocket audio streaming, webhooks and a staging quickstart.
How do you authenticate with the Suki API?
Login endpoint returns a JWT (suki_token) used as the bearer credential on subsequent calls
What are the Suki API rate limits?
Concurrency / sessions per minute: Not publicly documented
How much does the Suki API cost?
Published price: Not publicly disclosed by the vendor. Third-party estimate: ~$250 per user per month (ITQlick estimate — not vendor-confirmed, do not plan against it)
Can you evaluate Suki without a sales conversation?
Documentation and a staging quickstart are public; usable credentials come through the partner programme

Continue