Reference · Original dataset
Clinical documentation API directory
What each vendor actually exposes to a developer: base URLs, endpoints, authentication, published rate limits, published prices and the integration path — compiled from vendor documentation only.
Short answer
Which AI scribe and medical speech-to-text APIs can a developer actually build on?
Six of the ten vendors in this category publish an endpoint reference a developer can read without asking permission: Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Speechmatics, AWS, Azure and Suki's partner platform. Twofold sells a developer API with self-serve signup but releases the reference after account creation. Ambience releases documentation by email request. Abridge and Microsoft Dragon Copilot publish no developer API — they are applications sold to health systems, not components you can embed.
Cite as: Clinical documentation API directory, Compare Healthcare API, last reviewed 2026-09-01.
Key findings
- Only 7 of 10 vendors publish an endpoint reference you can read before talking to anyone. Every one of those is a speech-to-text vendor plus Suki's partner platform — the ambient-scribe application vendors publish none.
- Published rate limits are almost exclusively an ASR-vendor habit. Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Speechmatics and Azure all state numbers; not one clinician-facing scribe vendor publishes a concurrency figure, which makes capacity planning a contractual exercise rather than an engineering one.
- Per-minute prices differ by more than an order of magnitude across the category — roughly $0.0043/min for batch ASR against $0.10/min for a hyperscaler scribe service — because you are buying different amounts of the documentation problem, not different amounts of transcription.
- Two vendors offer a discount or a cheaper tier in exchange for model-improvement rights over your audio. For PHI that trade is usually unavailable, so the headline price is not the price you will pay.
- The only medical-specific model tiers in the ASR group are Deepgram's Nova-3 Medical and AssemblyAI's medical mode add-on. Azure publishes no medical SKU at all; clinical vocabulary there is a custom-model project you own.
The directory
One row per vendor. Follow a row through to the full endpoint list, published limits, prices and a step-by-step integration guide.
| Vendor | API posture | Endpoints | Published limit | Published price | Self-serve |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Partner API for embedded ambient clinical documentation | Public endpoint reference | 6 | 100 requests/second (burst 200); 429 returns Retry-After | $49 per user per month billed annually; $69 month-to-month | Yes |
Partner ambient documentation API | Documented, gated access | 6 | Not publicly documented | Not publicly disclosed by the vendor | No |
Gated integration API | Documented, gated access | 4 | Not publicly documented | Not publicly disclosed | No |
No public developer API | No public API | — | Not applicable — no public API | Not publicly disclosed — contact sales | No |
Licensed enterprise application | No public API | — | Not applicable — no public API | Not publicly disclosed | No |
Speech-to-text API (medical model line) | Public endpoint reference | 2 | Up to 50 concurrent requests per project (Nova-3) | $0.0077/min list (promotional $0.0048/min at time of verification) | Yes |
Speech-to-text API (medical mode add-on) | Public endpoint reference | 4 | 5 new sessions per minute | $0.21/hour | Yes |
Cloud clinical speech services | Public endpoint reference | 4 | Per-account, per-region Service Quotas — adjustable by support request; check the Service Quotas console for current defaults | $0.075/min (batch and streaming), per-second billing | Yes |
General speech-to-text service | Public endpoint reference | 3 | 1 concurrent request — not adjustable | $1.00 per hour | Yes |
Speech-to-text platform (cloud or on-premises) | Public endpoint reference | 3 | 2 concurrent real-time sessions | $0.129 per hour (list, at time of verification) | Yes |
Every listing, in full
Each vendor page carries the base URL, the endpoint table, authentication, rate limits, prices, data-handling terms and an ordered integration guide with its sources.
Twofold API
A documented Partner API (v2) for embedding Twofold's AI scribe inside your own product: OAuth 2.0 provider linking, patient sync, recording launch, webhooks and note/transcript retrieval. Public docs, a full staging environment and self-serve console access.
Production: https://partner-api.trytwofold.com/v2 · Staging: https://partner-api.staging.trytwofold.com/v2 (fully separate environment)
Suki API
The most completely documented developer portal among the clinician-facing scribe vendors: public REST session API, WebSocket audio streaming, webhooks and a staging quickstart.
Environment-specific (staging documented in the quickstart); production base URL issued to partners
Ambience Healthcare API
An integration API for EHRs and healthcare platforms exists and is described publicly — transcription, note generation and coding intelligence — but the reference itself is released on request.
Not publicly documented — released with documentation access
Abridge API
Delivered as a clinician-facing application embedded in the EHR. No developer documentation, endpoint reference or webhook specification is published for third parties.
None published
Nuance Dragon Copilot / DAX API
Sold as a licensed clinical application through Microsoft and its channel. Microsoft publishes licensing and security documentation but no public developer API reference.
None published
Deepgram API
Fully public speech-to-text API with a medical-tuned Nova-3 model selected by parameter. Endpoints, concurrency limits and per-minute prices are all published.
https://api.deepgram.com (EU: api.eu.deepgram.com · AU: api.au.deepgram.com)
AssemblyAI API
Public speech-to-text API with a medical mode enabled by parameter, published per-hour prices, published streaming rate limits and a public sample BAA.
https://api.assemblyai.com (EU: api.eu.assemblyai.com)
AWS HealthScribe / Transcribe Medical API
Two distinct services in one AWS account: Transcribe Medical for clinical transcription and HealthScribe for encounter summarisation with clinical insights. Prices and quotas are published.
https://transcribe.<region>.amazonaws.com
Azure AI Speech API
General-purpose speech-to-text with fast, batch and real-time modes and customisable vocabulary. There is no medical-specific SKU — clinical terminology is a customisation exercise.
https://<region>.api.cognitive.microsoft.com · realtime: wss://<region>.stt.speech.microsoft.com
Speechmatics API
Batch and real-time speech-to-text with published plan concurrency and the category's clearest self-hosting story — the option that keeps audio inside your own perimeter.
https://asyncbatch.speechmatics.com · realtime: wss://eu.rt.speechmatics.com/v2/ (or global.rt)
Evidence & sources
Standards referenced by the integration guides. Vendor-specific evidence is each vendor's own documentation, linked on its listing page.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services · Regulation · Tier A — primary documentation
Supports: The contractual clauses a documentation vendor's BAA must contain.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services · Regulation · Tier A — primary documentation
Supports: Administrative, physical and technical safeguards a vendor handling recorded encounter audio must implement.
HL7 International · Standard · Tier A — primary documentation
Supports: Resource definitions (DocumentReference, Composition, Encounter, Condition, MedicationRequest) that clinical documentation output must map onto.
NIST speech recognition evaluation literature · Methodology · Tier B — published methodology
Supports: Why a headline WER figure without a stated corpus, audio condition and reference-transcript protocol is not comparable across vendors.
Source tiers are defined on the methodology page. Outbound links are unaffiliated and carry no commercial relationship.
Frequently asked questions
- Which clinical documentation vendors have a public API?
- Deepgram, AssemblyAI, Speechmatics, AWS (Transcribe Medical and HealthScribe) and Azure AI Speech publish complete endpoint references you can read without contacting anyone. Suki publishes a full partner developer portal with gated credentials. Twofold markets a developer API with self-serve signup but issues the endpoint reference after signup. Ambience releases documentation on request. Abridge and Microsoft Dragon Copilot publish no developer API at all.
- Which medical speech-to-text API has the highest published rate limits?
- Deepgram documents up to 150 concurrent streams and 50 concurrent pre-recorded requests per project on pay-as-you-go. AssemblyAI documents 100+ new streaming sessions per minute on paid plans with automatic scaling. Speechmatics publishes 50 concurrent real-time sessions on Pro. Azure defaults to 100 concurrent requests on the standard tier, shared across speech-to-text and translation.
- How much does a medical speech-to-text API cost per minute?
- Published rates at the last verification date: Deepgram Nova-3 batch $0.0043/min and streaming $0.0077/min list, AssemblyAI $0.21/hour pre-recorded plus a $0.15/hour medical-mode add-on, Speechmatics $0.129/hour on Pro, AWS Transcribe Medical $0.075/min, AWS HealthScribe $0.10/min, Azure standard batch $0.18/hour and real-time $1.00/hour. Model your own volume.
- Do any of these vendors let me build without talking to sales?
- Yes. Deepgram ($200 credit), AssemblyAI ($50 credit), Speechmatics ($100 credit), AWS and Azure all provision self-serve with published prices, and Twofold offers self-serve signup with a free trial. Abridge, Ambience and Dragon Copilot all require a conversation before you can see anything.
- Is a per-minute transcription price comparable to a scribe API price?
- No, and treating them as comparable is the most expensive mistake in this category. A transcription price buys you words; a scribe price buys you a structured note, template adherence and part of the clinical-safety burden. Compare total cost of ownership, including the engineering you keep. Build vs buy.
- How current is this directory?
- Every endpoint, limit and price was verified against the vendor's own public documentation on 2026-09-04. Prices in this category change without notice, so each listing links its primary source — that source, not this page, is the authority.
Continue
- AI scribe API buyer guideHow to choose between these surfaces.
- Medical speech-to-text API guideWhat a transcript does not give you.
- Vendor selectorScore these vendors on your own weighting.
- Cost calculatorTurn these prices into a monthly number.
- Vendor Transparency IndexWhat each vendor is willing to publish.
- Integration effort modelEngineering weeks per architecture.